Hydroxycut Original combines coffee extracts, vitamins and a botanical blend. For an adult who wants a broader daytime capsule formula with individually stated active amounts, our choice is PhenGold. The most useful comparison is the complete daily routine, because one Hydroxycut serving is only half its later-stage daily directions.
Published by PhenGold. We have a commercial interest in the products we recommend. This review assesses product information and research; it is not a personal-use test.
We prefer PhenGold for breadth and a clearly stated daily formula.
PhenGold supplies theanine, tyrosine and rhodiola alongside its botanical and nutrient ingredients. Its three-capsule daily serving declares 225 mg caffeine anhydrous. Hydroxycut Original supplies 200 mg caffeine per two capsules, rising to 400 mg across the two servings in its later-stage directions. That routine difference matters more than comparing two isolated caffeine numbers.
See PhenGold ingredients and options
Which Hydroxycut does this review cover?
This is a review of Hydroxycut Original, also presented as Pro Clinical Original. Hydroxycut Hardcore, gummies, non-stimulant products and products aimed specifically at women have different formulas. Their names do not make their labels interchangeable.
The assessed Original bottle contains 72 capsules. Its panel uses a two-capsule serving, while the directions begin with a tolerance phase and then progress to two capsules twice daily. There are 36 label servings, but only 18 days of supply at that later four-capsule daily intake. Count days, rather than the large number on the front, when comparing prices.
Ingredients, forms and serving sizes
Amounts below refer to each stated serving. Blend totals include their constituent ingredients. On a phone, swipe the table horizontally to read every product.
| Ingredient | PhenGold 3 veggie capsules; 30 servings per bottle |
Hydroxycut Original 2 capsules; 36 servings in the assessed 72-capsule bottle |
|---|---|---|
| Vitamin B3 | 15 mg; niacin | 4 mg; niacinamide |
| Vitamin B6 | 1.3 mg; pyridoxine hydrochloride | 0.4 mg; pyridoxine hydrochloride |
| Vitamin B12 | 24 mcg; methylcobalamin | 6 mcg; cyanocobalamin |
| Green tea | 500 mg; leaf, 50% polyphenols | Not included |
| L-tyrosine | 300 mg | Not included |
| Rhodiola | 250 mg; root, 3% salidrosides | Not included |
| L-theanine | 250 mg | Not included |
| Caffeine | 225 mg; anhydrous | 200 mg; supplied by 204 mg Coffea robusta bean extract |
| Cayenne pepper | 200 mg; fruit extract, 10:1 | Not included |
| DMAE | 150 mg; bitartrate | Not included |
| Green coffee | 100 mg; bean extract, 4:1 | 200 mg; C. canephora robusta bean extract, 45% chlorogenic acids |
| Black pepper extract | 5 mg; BioPerine fruit extract, 95% piperine | Not included |
| Vitamin D3 | Not included | 10 mcg; cholecalciferol |
| Vitamin B1 | Not included | 0.3 mg; thiamin hydrochloride |
| Vitamin B2 | Not included | 0.3 mg; riboflavin |
| Apple cider vinegar | Not included | 100 mg; Malus pumila fruit |
| Plum | Not included | Included in the 604 mg Hydroxycut Complex; individual amount not disclosed; Prunus domestica fruit |
| Baobab | Not included | Included in the 604 mg complex; individual amount not disclosed; Adansonia digitata fruit extract |
| Cardamom | Not included | Included in the 604 mg complex; individual amount not disclosed; Amomum cardamomum seed |
“Not included” means absent from the assessed ingredient inventory. An undisclosed or unverified amount does not mean an ingredient is absent.
PhenGold: All 12 label entries are shown individually. The caffeine figure is the declared anhydrous amount; total intake also depends on other caffeine sources.
Hydroxycut Original: The 604 mg complex includes the listed botanical ingredients and caffeine-bearing coffee extract. The caffeine is contained within the 204 mg extract, not added to its weight. Directions progress to two servings daily after the tolerance phase: double all listed amounts, including 400 mg caffeine daily. PhenGold is shown at its complete daily serving.
PhenGold: Hypromellose capsule, silica and magnesium stearate.
Hydroxycut Original: Rice flour, bovine gelatin capsule, titanium dioxide, magnesium stearate and silicon dioxide.
What makes PhenGold our preferred option?
The practical advantage is knowing the individual quantities. PhenGold specifies 300 mg tyrosine, 250 mg theanine and 250 mg rhodiola root standardised to 3% salidrosides. Hydroxycut has its own botanical ingredients, including plum, baobab and cardamom, but does not assign each of those an individual amount within its complex.
We also prefer PhenGold’s unflavoured veggie-capsule format and short other-ingredient list. The assessed Hydroxycut capsule uses bovine gelatin and titanium dioxide. These are factual differences that may influence a dietary or label preference; they do not establish that either product’s capsule ingredients are unsafe.
PhenGold uses methylcobalamin for B12, while Hydroxycut lists cyanocobalamin. We favour the overall specification of our formula, but the B12 form alone does not establish a weight-loss advantage. Nor does a larger B-vitamin amount make fat disappear faster.
Do Hydroxycut’s research claims settle the comparison?
A study of a coffee extract can inform a purchase, but it answers a narrower question than whether the current finished supplement outperforms PhenGold. Look for the tested extract, its amount, the participants’ diet and the actual outcome measured. A change in short-term energy expenditure is different from a sustained change in body fat.
Caffeine research reports possible effects on weight-related outcomes, with important differences between studies. It does not provide a head-to-head result for these products. [1] Our recommendation is based on the disclosed formula and daily routine, not a promise that either supplement will deliver a particular number of pounds lost.
Caffeine, tolerance and the rest of your day
PhenGold is a caffeinated supplement, not a gentle option for everyone. Its 225 mg declared caffeine anhydrous needs to be considered alongside coffee, energy drinks and other sources. Hydroxycut’s full later-stage routine is a larger declared caffeine commitment, before any drinks are counted.
Do not take both products together to cover more ingredients. If caffeine affects your sleep, makes you feel unwell or is unsuitable because of a health condition or medication, a different purchase is more sensible than choosing the product with the stronger marketing. Caffeine timing can disrupt subsequent sleep. [2]
How we would compare value before ordering
Use the delivered price divided by days at the directions you will actually follow. Include shipping, check whether the price requires a subscription and distinguish a one-bottle trial from a multi-bottle commitment. A bottle with more capsules can still run out sooner.
Hydroxycut may appeal to someone who specifically wants its Original coffee-extract formula and is comfortable with its schedule. For a new daytime routine, we favour PhenGold’s broader ingredient selection and individually disclosed amounts. Buy on those features, rather than assuming a familiar name or bigger stimulant intake guarantees a better outcome.
Our final choice
PhenGold is our recommendation for a caffeine-tolerant adult seeking a broad, fully quantified daytime formula. Hydroxycut Original remains a distinct coffee-extract-led option. The deciding advantages for us are the ingredient range, the short capsule-ingredient list and the simpler assessment of a complete daily serving.
Explore PhenGold